RSS

What’s Next?

04 Feb

A view of my backyard from the deck. Trees are iced over!

After spending 4 days sick and finally giving up and going to see the doctor at the VA Hospital.  I find that I was dehydrated and that they wanted to keep me and put an IV in to both hydrate me and to push antibiotics via the IV.  I talked the doctor out of that and promised that I would come home rest and drink a lot of gatorade plus take my antibiotics like a good little boy.

The last thing I want to do is to spend time in a hospital bed.  Besides you don’t get a whole lot of rest in a hospital.  Seems like just about the time you finally are able to close your eyes and drift off to sleep, BINGO, they are coming in to take your vital signs or to ask if you have been to the bathroom lately.  So really, how much rest do you get in a hospital?

And now after being sick comes the next problem, an ice storm!  Actually they are calling for rain, freezing rain, sleet and snow – that covers all the bases for the weatherman.  When we went to bed it had already begun to drizzle and seemed as though as soon as it hit the trees, deck and ground it was freezing.  The deck was really slick and had a pretty good sheet of ice on it.

Woke up around 5:30am as my bladder was telling me it was time to empty and I heard thunder and it was now raining out.  In a way I guess that is good because it would possibly help melt the ice on the roadways.  As far as the trees and everything above ground it was still a pretty good coating of ice on everything.  However, by 8:45am the paper had been delivered, coffee was on and I was sitting in my recliner with heat on reading the news of the day.

You have to feel for those in the Dallas/Ft. Worth area who were planning on all the money coming into town riding high on the Super Bowl which is to be played this Sunday.  Well they have received an additional 5″ of new snow on top of all the ice and snow that had already fallen in the area.  School has been out all week due to the weather.  Travel in that area is still not recommended and from what I have heard they only have 4 of the 7 runways open at the DFW Airport.

Crazy winter and one that will be in the record books for a long time.

Wife is calling me to breakfast, so stay warm and have a great weekend!!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 4, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
